Adieu, adieu, to you and you and you

December 19, 2009

Dear Bunnies,

This shall be my last post for some time. Like in The Sound of Music when the Von Trapp family leaves for “some time,” I shall not be returning. Adieu, adieu, to you and you and you.

If you would have told me 9 months ago I’d be a published lagomorph—well, you wouldn’t have been able to reach me because I did not yet exist. This has been quite the journey. Although my mad, nose-waggling ramblings may seem incoherent at times, I am certain that I am closer to self-mastery than ever before.

I started the semester with “A world of unlimited first impressions…” It was my first serious attempt at simplifying the complexity of the topics Sofia discusses with her class. I attempted a connection with first impressions and a doctor’s relationship with his patients. In retrospect, I see that it failed. Not miserably, but failed to draw parallels between first impressions, reputation, and Gawande. In retrospect, I should have predicted the public outcry following this post. I made a clarifying post the following week.

That post, “Clarifications, Blog Progress, and My New Job as the First Ever Lagomorph Internal Auditor,” was where I found enough direction to embark on the way to self-mastery. I responded to a post from Sofia’s professor about testing scenarios within a specific framework, and that was when I found my mojo. I finally figured out how to express myself without wandering in circles with my words.

Dare I contradict Drucker? Indeed, I did dare to contract Drucker when I wrote about how it is not necessary for someone to be led by someone else for them to accomplish amazing things. Sometimes, people find inspiration within themselves and manage to hit greatness along their path to self-discovery. The story of William Kamkwamba inspired me like no one ever has, bunny or human alike, to follow my own footsteps.

My greatest post, though, in my opinion was that in which I challenged the humans’ system of learning a little about everything and not knowing much about anything. I never thought of humans as not knowing much about anything because Sofia would always tell me that humans are raised to be well-rounded animals. Well, I think they should read my interpretation of how they teach their young in Jack of All Trades, Master of None: I recommend you do as us bunnies do…

The time has come, the walrus said, to talk of other things…and I am no walrus, but even I sense it is time to move on.

Fare thee well, my lagomorphs, and remember all I have taught you.

One Response to “Adieu, adieu, to you and you and you”

  1. Dear floppy ears:

    Is adieu really finis or will you reappear in a different venue? The actual von Trapp family (http://www.archives.gov/publications/prologue/2005/winter/von-trapps.html) eventually made it to America, touring as a singing group and having a family lodge in Vermont where they had a singing camp. What will become of Hester?

    And can you tell us how Sofia fared, letting you stand in for her? Did she eventually want to take the lead herself? Or was she content to let you do that and remain in the background?

    I would be curious to hear an assessment from Sofia about the overall approach for the full semester. Might she have gotten further into some of the subjects if she had claimed the helm? Or was it for the best because a satirical approach needs a different perch?

Leave a Reply

